Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Just one more...

and the hippest Facebook ID ever! I just joined the group for the class of my college. They're all going to want to talk to me when they see this...I just know it! I'm gonna be popular as heck!












okay. probably not.

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

I really have nothing to say...


...except that I need a hobby.


Sunday, June 22, 2008

Bathtime Pictures!

As I mentioned at the end of my post yesterday I was going off to give Izzy a bath. I lied. I procrastinated (a talent which I have perfected) until today, but *drumroll* Izzy got her bath! And the crowd goes wild! Okay... maybe not. 

Anyway, this is how bathtime goes at our house:

"Lady, I swear, if you do not give me a bath
 I will never break a stay as long as I flyball!"
"I hate you. So, so much."
"I r a porkpine ... 
And I hate you, even as a porkpine"
"Have you humiliated me enough for one day?"
"I know I'm gorgeous,
you don't have to tell me."
"But I still hate you. Cookies may help though,
lots and lots of cookies. And walkies..."

Now I will admit that I lied again. These pictures were taken a few months ago as I can't seem to locate my camera cord at the moment. But they're still cute :P

Saturday, June 21, 2008

Flyball Class #12

Wow, long time, no type!

I didn't have class the past two weeks, one I missed for graduation and one of my trainers was sick last week. Anyway, we finally had class last night, so it's time for the weekly report (I know, you've all been sitting at your computers twiddling your thumbs, unsure of what to do without an update :P)!

So, there was only one trainer, myself, and another member there last night. Not sure where the rest of the members were, though it was storming pretty hard yesterday, so maybe that kept them away. I drove right into the storm on the way in, now I may be weird, but I absolutely love thunderstorms! And the lightening gave me quite a show on the way, gorgeous!

Now, that being said, I do NOT like being outside in thunderstorms with Miss Izzy. She is a pain in the butt and refuses to go number 2. So we walked around the grass outside of the training center in the pouring rain staring each other down. Izzy convincing me she doesn't have to go and promising not to go in the training center, and me absolutely not falling for it. 

I'm going to stop here and say that Izzy was already not on my list of favorite beings for the day. Earlier somebody in my family (though none will admit it) had left the gate into the back of the house down and Izzy ran back and helped herself to some litter box treats. Izzy, not sure if I've mentioned this before, has an extremely sensitive stomach and litter box snackies are just about as bad as it gets with her. I'm talking days of torture with her not feeling well and having bad diarrhea, which of course gets all over her fluffy pants, and thus we have to get in the bath and get washed off after every tip outside. Like I said, not on my list of favorite beings at the moment.

So we went inside when I was sure that she wasn't going to go to the bathroom outside. While we were setting up the equipment Izzy's ball work had come up and I ran something by the trainer that I had been thinking of for a bit now. Izzy has definitely been improving on her ball work, but she seems to have a problem being able to drop the ball into my hand. She knows that she needs to get the ball in my hand in order for me to click, but she has trouble judging the distance and space to actually accurately get the ball in my hand (if that makes any sense). She will proceed to pick it up, drop it, pick it up, drop it, etc. to try and get it in my hand, but it frustrates the snot out of her and eventually she will shut down. Not very progressive in training. Now, a similar topic came up on a flyball list I am on, and they mentioned using a bucket. So, the new plan is to teach Izzy that she needs to drop the ball into the bucket in order for me to click. I figure the larger opening and the clarity of the ball needs to be in the bucket will definitely help up and speed up our ball work.

Then the trainer decided to try something new to make Izzy even more interested in the ball, which of course I am all about! So she brings out her adorable sheltie and tells me to play fetch with her dog with Izzy right there and maybe she will get jealous when I am praising, paying attention to, and giving treats to the other dog. At first she is all about me having cheese (not something she gets a lot of) and trying to jump up on me to give her the cheese while I'm throwing balls for the other dog and giving that dog treats. In minimal time she gets tired of this crap and decides to go explore the building. So here I am, acting a fool whenever this other dog brings me a ball and Izzy is like "You are nuts lady, seriously off your rocker... and just for the record I hate you for giving that dog cheese, you will pay." 

After roughly ten or so minutes of her ignoring me and this other dog, she wanders over and walks over to the ball and sniffs it. YAY! Kisses and cheese and pets and praises galore for teh Izzeh! (she of course only cared about the cheese). Then she decides that was nice but searching for discarded treats around the facility is much more rewarding and can be done without having to listen to me, so off she goes again, and I play ball with the other dog again. She eventually wondered back again and after eyeing the other dog up she runs for the ball when I throw it and picks it up. Massive CHEESEFEST! And we stopped on that good note.

The rest of the class was mostly spent working on passing. The plan was that I would set up Izzy in a sit stay behind the second or third jump and then stand behind the start line and call her, then the other lady who came would release her BC to go down the lane, grab the tennis ball off the chute (behind which the trainer was standing and loading), and come tearing back the lane. We ran into a problem. Izzy decided that stays were way overrated and she just really didn't need to listen to them. She's such an objectionable little brat. So instead I would put her in the stay, take a few steps back, then turn and hoof it in the other direction and she would run after me. Not only was I mad that she wouldn't listen to her stay command, but I also had not signed up for physical participation. After all, isn't Izzy supposed to be the one running around like a fiend? Apparently not. We are definitely working on stays before next class *grumbles* 

Anywho, that was pretty much all we did last night. 

On a good note, always end on a good note, while we were working the member came in with the dog that Izzy tried to attack last week. She did great, no teeth or snarling, they even sniffed hello before Izzy begged some treats from the owner (which of course she got *sigh*).

Now, I need to go give Izzy a bath, she looks bad. O.o



Sunday, June 8, 2008

OMFG it's hot!

According to weather.com it is currently feels like 92 degrees and the humidity is at 59% here in Bloomsburg.

We can't do anything in this heat. *stomps feet*

I have no air conditioning, so we sit here, laying on the tile floors panting, windows open and fans going. Last night at about 6:30 I took the dogs around the block, just around the block, and when we got home I was drenched in sweat and Izzy just laid on the floor and panted and panted and panted. No matter how much I use the Furminator on her, her coat is just too thick and she roasts.

Now that schools out I'm going to start getting up early and exercising the dogs, but I still hate to see them so miserable during the day :(

I do know, though, that there is no way she is going to be able to function for more then a few minutes at a time during flyball practice if this heat continues, which it undoubtedly will for the rest of the summer.

Hopefully tonight it will cool off enough for us to go down and soak in the creek, and hey, maybe one of these days I'll actually have something productive to write about!

/ totally unproductive whiney rant

Just like training, always end on a good note, so...

I'M A GRADUATE!!!
(I'm second from the left)

NO MORE HIGH SCHOOL, WAHOO!

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Little girl tried to steal Izzy

Nothing new on the flyball front, still working on the ball with Izzy and slowly improving so I figured I'd tell you all about the little girl who tried to take my dog yesterday! lol

Only 2 days until graduation and I'm super busy, so I'll keep this short!

I've been walking Izzy up Spruce Street (the steepest street in our town) when it starts to cool off most nights, but yesterday my mom told me that it wasn't that hot out (total lie!) so we went early. About halfway up Spruce St. I saw a friend of mine, who was headed down to the park to hang out with friends and asked if I wanted to walk along. Hmmm, walk to the park...or walk up this friggin ginormous hill...tough choice. So we walked back down the hill (I'm not yet ready to admit we skipped our workout :p) and while we were headed towards the park there was a group of people having a cookout and this little girl (probably 2 or 3 years old) came tottering over towards Izzy (Dad in tow) to say hi.

Once she got close though, she decided she was kinda scared of Izzy, so of course Miss Attention Whore throws herself on her back and works her cuteness to her advantage. The little girl's father took her hand and rubbed Izzy's tummy with it. The little girl started giggling like mad. Now, I'm really not a little kid person...at all, but it was so adorable! When we got up to leave she reached out and grabbed the end of Izzy's leash from me and started waddling away. I kept ahold of the middle of Izzy's leash in case she would pull or something, and just followed the little girl around for a bit.

Then she took Izzy back towards the rest of the people and up to her mom, turned towards me...and waved good-bye. LOL! She expected me to leave Izzy there with her, and let me tell you, she was not a happy camper when she was told she couldn't have Izzy. We stuck around for a few more minutes, Izzy of course had to stay long enough to make sure people weren't going to feed her, before she finally gave me the rest of the leash back and I could get going. :D

Then on our way to the park a guy came around the corner with an aggressive schnauzer and a petrified manchester terrier *facepalm* So the schnauzer is lunging at Izzy, which sets her off, and of course we're too far past her threshold for her to acknowledge me at all. To make matters worse, little manchester terrier freaks and slips its collar, so guy has to try and control lunging schnauzer while chasing down petrified manchester. Good times, eh?

We ended up not going to the park, instead we went home and calmed down. Perhaps that was karma for not completing out workout?

Sunday, June 1, 2008

You like?

As all of you imaginary blog readers may have noticed, we do indeed have a new title picture! Yippee! A huge thanks to Babyblue5290 from Chazhound for the awesome photoshopage (again, my blog, my words) talents

*round of applause*

She even guessed our flyball team colors (yellow and purple) without me even telling her:

'cause I'm sye-kick. DUH! ;)

(her words, not mine, lol)

Anyway, your jealousy over my new pic is understandable, invisible blog readers.