Thursday, July 24, 2008

Movin' on up...

Movin on up, to the East side....

Okay, not really, but I am moving. I decided that there just isn't enough Izzy and flyball to go around. So I'm starting a new blog about Izzy and Frodo, a blog about training and pictures and everything else that goes on when you're living with two goons.

So, I hope to see all of my readers (if I have any that is) at our new home...

izfro.blogspot.com

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Honey.


Honey.
Originally uploaded by laurenscoombs
This is me turning off the auto setting on my camera. Honey the mule was not impressed. I have pictures of the mules complete with heads, but I actually like this one. It's peaceful. Maybe I'll share the rest tomorrow.

Flyball Class #13

Let's hope I can remember what we did. I really need to start writing these on Friday night :/

Anyway, Izzy was not (for the second week in a row) on my list of favorite people ever. She managed to snag some litterbox munchies on Friday night...AGAIN! I swear this dog makes a conscious effort to drive me completely insane. Hmph! Thankfully I lucked out once again and managed to avoid cannon butt for the night, yay!

When we first got there Izzy and I did some ball work (we are now using the bucket that I mentioned about last class) because my trainers were busy. Eventually one of my trainers came over and watched. She said that it looks good, but that Izzy is mainly getting the ball in haphazardly and not intentionally dropping it in the bucket, something I had noticed as well but was ignoring :p. But she said if I keep dropping the treat into the bucket for Izzy to get that eventually she should be able to catch on and make a conscious effort at placing that ball in the bucket. *crosses fingers that it is soon*

Then we worked on more chute work...I think. Erm. Yea, I'm pretty sure we did some chute work, but there was obviously nothing important enough for me to remember. I think.

I do know, however, that we did just some general work on the jumps...and that Izzy acted a fool through most of it. *glares at fluffy demon who is teh Izzeh*
Izzy has a problem where she will go down over all four jumps, turn left (as she is a lefty, how cute) and run around the first jump before getting herself on track and hitting the last three jumps. That, of course, will earn her a big, fat DQ for the team during competition. Not good. So when we went to practice I asked if we could put a barrier up between the last jump and where the box would be (had we been using a box), we did. Then, I sent Izzy down, she turns....and keeps on turning. :/ She ran in a circle took off towards a guy in our class who was working with his dog and feeding her cheese. She runs up and jumps all over him, begging for cheese. *sigh*

So we ended up with barriers on each side of the portion of the lane between the last jump and the box. Because my dog has no self control. And is a total PITA...
We ran that a few times before removing the barrier from the side where she went a visiting, and she did well and stayed on track *claps excitedly*
Then we tried to remove the other side barrier and she skipped the jump again. Alas, we are destined for a life of barriers! Did one more round successfully with the barrier and stopped there.

Honestly, that's all I can remember about class.

BUT, to make up for the crappy description, I have some pictures of Izzy flyball-ing.
They aren't the best, just from the trainer's P&S.

Izzy on the chute (and my foot! lol):Look, she's FLYING!: